Sunday, May 14, 2017

Rattler Battalion commissions new officers

Eight new second lieutenants were commissioned during Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University’s Spring 2017 Army ROTC Commissioning Ceremony on April 28.

The ceremony, which took place in Lee Hall Auditorium, was the culmination of years of training and study required to earn a commission as an officer in the United States Army. While welcoming family members and friends to the ceremony, Lt. Col. Edwin Escobar, professor of military science said he was honored to share the stage with new military leaders.

“I am keenly aware of the pride you must be feeling for these junior leaders who will soon be responsible for America’s most precious resource, the America soldier,” Escobar said.

The keynote speaker for the commissioning was FAMU alumnus Maj. Gen. Michael A. Calhoun, adjutant general of Florida and commanding general of the Florida National Guard. A highly decorated officer, Calhoun earned a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from FAMU and a master’s degree in strategic studies from the U.S. Army War College.

In his address to the new lieutenants, Calhoun recognized the commitment they now make to the nation.

“Each of you that will raise your right hand, knows that in doing so, you are committing your life to preserve freedom for all Americans and that in doing so, you will likely serve a portion of your career overseas on deployment,” Calhoun said.  “Each of you take this obligation freely and this speaks volumes of your character,” he added.

Established in 1948, graduates of FAMU’s Army ROTC Rattler Battalion have proudly served their country from the Korean War Conflict to Operation in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Officers receiving commissions during the ceremony included:
  • 2nd LT Javier Domingo – Army Nurse Corps
  • 2nd LT Winston L. Marshall – Quartermaster Corps
  • 2nd LT Anthony T. Means – Infantry Corps
  • 2nd LT Michael N. Paul – Engineer Corps
  • 2nd LT Samuel D. Reese – Field Artillery
  • 2nd LT Cleeford Saint Pierre – Medical Service Corps
  • 2nd LT Michael B. Schulte – Chemical Corps
  • 2nd LT Jermaine A. Sheppard, Jr. – Infantry Corps

No comments: