Saturday, January 31, 2015

Ashley Ivey named MEAC Women’s Track Athlete of the Week

The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) named FAMU hurdler/sprinter Ashley Ivey its Women’s Indoor Track and Field Athlete of the Week. Ivey’s first place performance in the Jimmy Carnes Invitational pushed her to the top spot among women in the conference for the 55m hurdles.

Ivey, a junior from Sandersville, Ga., ran the 55m hurdles in 7.98, which is the second best performance in the MEAC this year.

Friday, January 30, 2015

Brian Tyms gets first shot at Super Bowl ring

Former Rattler wide receiver Brian Tyms will receive his first shot at a Super Bowl ring when he and the New England Patriots take on the defending champion Seattle Seahawks on Sunday, February 1 in Glendale, Arizona.

Tyms has played in a total of 11 games this season. He had three offensive snap counts when the Pats pulled out a 35-31 victory over the Baltimore Ravens in their January 10 second round playoff game. Although he did not see any action in his team’s 45-7 American Football Conference championship game win against the Indianapolis Colts, he still has a chance to take the field in Super Bowl XLIX.

The Boston Globe wrote the following in a feature article on Tyms on January 6:

Thursday, January 29, 2015

FAMU awarded $6M in grants from U.S. National Nuclear Security Agency

FAMU President Elmira Mangum has announced that the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Agency (NNSA) has awarded the University two grants totaling $6 million over three years.

The grants will support the Consortium on Materials and Energy Studies (CMES) and Consortium for Research on the Science and Engineering of Signatures (ROSES). The principal investigators for the grants are FAMU Associate Vice President for Research Charles A. Weatherford and Assistant Dean of the College of Science and Technology Lewis E. Johnson, respectively.

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Wood announces new Rattler football coaching staff

Yesterday afternoon new FAMU Head Coach Alex Wood formally announced the names of the six assistants who will join him on the sidelines.

“I am extremely excited to work with all these great men. They are coaches, teachers, family men, men of faith who will be great ambassadors for Florida A&M University,” Wood said.

“Many of them I’ve known a long time, and they bring extensive experience to us, and I know they will do nothing but great things for our young men, the football program and the university,” Wood added.

In all, Wood hired five new assistants and retained one additional coach retained from the previous staff.

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Earl Holmes sues FAMU for $400,000

Earl Holmes, former Rattler head football coach, wants FAMU to pay him for the more than two years that remained on his four-year contract prior to his termination.

Yesterday, Holmes filed a civil lawsuit against the university’s Board of Trustees. He is seeking $400,000 and additional damages.

“It was not an easy decision for him,” said Tim Jansen, Holmes’ attorney. “He’s a Baby Rattler. He was a Rattler. He’s a Hall of Fame Rattler. He’s an NFL player. He came back to coach FAMU at the request of the university, the president, Board of Trustees.”

Monday, January 26, 2015

Pharmacy Phase II scheduled for completion in Spring 2016

The construction of the Phase II building of the FAMU College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences is scheduled to finally reach the finish line in Spring 2016.

Last summer, Gov. Rick Scott signed a 2014-2015 Florida budget that included $10M for the construction project. Pharmacy Phase II will include much-needed laboratory and classroom space. FAMU Pharmacy needs this expansion in order to remain in compliance with the standards of the Accreditation Council of Pharmacy Education.

Sunday, January 25, 2015

Lexus awards “Versus and Flow” Scholarships to two FAMU students

Lexus has awarded “Verses and Flow” Scholarships to two FAMU students, Tatyana Smith and Zemoria Johnson. The recipients will receive $5,000 each in recognition of their community leadership and academic excellence.

The scholarships are part of a partnership between Lexus and ten Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU). A total of 19 students will receive them.

“In alignment with the Lexus Pursuit of Potential initiative to support our youth, we are proud of the work these scholarship recipients are doing in school and in their communities,” said Brian Smith, Lexus vice president, marketing. “These HBCU student leaders have the tools to succeed and we expect they'll do great things for society in the future.”

The “Verses and Flow” Scholarships are named after the “Versus and Flow” program on TV One, which features poetry, spoken word and music.