Saturday, April 02, 2011

Arts & Sciences to enshrine distinguished alumni

The College of Arts and Sciences has scheduled a semi-formal, invitation only, event to celebrate alumni newly enshrined into its Gallery of Distinction. The honorees will be enshrined on Saturday, April 2, 2011, at 5:30 p.m. in the University's Grand Ballroom. The event will include a reception, the formal enshrinement of the honorees, and the unveiling of their individual portraits.

Today, the College of Arts and Sciences will be enshrining graduates into two separate Galleries of Distinction: The Thomas DeSaille Tucker Hall and the Henry O. Tanner Art Complex.

From the fine and performing arts, honorees include the likes of famed “Highwayman” painter Willie Reagan, professor emeritus Kenneth Falana, actors Anika Noni Rose, T’keyah Crystal Keymah, and Meshach Taylor as well as noted patron of the arts and educator Shirley Kinsey.

From the discipline of English, inductees include Dr. Chanta M. Haywood and Dr. Frances Stallworth (pictured).

From disciplines within the social and behavioral sciences, honorees include Attorney Daryl D. Parks, FAMU Assistant Chief of Police James Lockley, Jr., along with the following educators and clinicians: Dr. Terra Bowen-Reid, Dr. David H. Jackson, Jr., Dr. Jeanene Robinson-Kyles, Dr. Alexander Nicholas, and corporate executive, Mr. Samuel Hasan, II.

No comments: